Stock Groups

Canada wants companies to report cyber attacks and hacking incidents -Breaking


© Reuters. FILEPHOTO: This picture illustration was taken on March 28, 2018, and shows silhouettes of laptop users next to a projected screen with binary code. REUTERS/Dado Ruvic/Illustration/File Photo

OTTAWA (Reuters), Canadian firms operating in critical infrastructure would be required by the federal government to report cyber attacks and to strengthen their cyber security systems, according to a new law.

Although the legislation names financial, telecommunications and energy sectors that are vital for national security and public safety but does not name any businesses, it is clear they do identify them as essential to our nation’s security.

Marco Mendicino, Public Safety Minister said that there was much thought put into the identification of vital sectors for national security and public safety. He also stated to reporters that critical infrastructure operators would be determined after consulting with them.

New legislation gives Justin Trudeau (Liberal Prime Minister) greater authority to safeguard the country’s telecommunications system against cyber security threats.

Mendicino explained that “this new legislation…will help both the private and public sectors better defend themselves against cyberattacks.”

Canada’s critical infrastructure has been made more interconnected by faster networks, such as 5G. However, it is also vulnerable to more advanced cyber threats.

According to a senior official, hacking incidents are increasing, however, they are still under-reported as companies do not have the legal obligation under current law to report cyberattacks when they occur.

The bill C-26 (which has yet to be debated and passed) would ban telecom companies using high-risk suppliers’ products and services, according to a government statement.

Although the statement didn’t name companies, Canada banned last month the 5G equipment made by China’s Huawei Technologies Co Ltd (HK:), and ZTE Corp. This was done to preserve national security. It joins the United States of America, Britain, Australia, New Zealand and Canada, who have all banned this gear.